Tell the House Judiciary Committee to Oppose H.R.2826

Background: This Wednesday, June 28th, the House Judiciary Committee will continue to mark up H.R.2826, the “Refugee Program Integrity Restoration Act.” This bill would deny protection to vulnerable refugees and negatively impact refugees resettled in the U.S. H.R.2826 would drastically reduce refugee admissions; place refugees under continual surveillance after they have arrived; and delay family reunification and integration by tripling the amount of time refugees have to wait until they receive green cards. It would allow state and local governments to veto resettlement, and revoke the refugee status of any refugee who returns to their country of origin. Under the guise of prioritizing religious minorities from countries of particular concern, H.R. 2826 would prevent Muslim refugees from being resettled in the United States. All House Judiciary Committee Members need to hear from everyone who stands with refugees!

CALL TODAY: Tell House Judiciary Committee Members to Vote NO on H.R.2826
The direct phone lines of committee members are listed below.

Here’s an example of what to say: “I support refugee resettlement and urge the Representative to REJECT H.R.2826, the “Refugee Program Integrity Restoration Act.” This bill is being considered by the House Judiciary Committee and would drastically reduce refugee admissions, place refugees under surveillance, allow state and local governments to veto resettlement, and deny life-saving protection to refugees fleeing for their lives. H.R.2826 runs counter to the leadership of the United States and the welcome of the American people. Please vote NO on H.R. 2826.

  • Chairman Bob Goodlatte (R-VA-06): 202-225-5431 @RepGoodlatte
  • Rep. Jim Sensenbrenner, Jr. (R-WI-05): 202-225-5101 @JimPressOffice
  • Rep. Lamar Smith (R-TX-21): 202-225-4236 @LamarSmithTX21
  • Rep. Steve Chabot (R-OH-01): 202-225-2216 @RepSteveChabot
  • Rep. Darrell Issa (R-CA-49): 202-225-3906 @DarrellIssa
  • Rep. Steve King (R-IA-04): 202-225-4426 @SteveKingIA
  • Rep. Trent Franks (R-AZ-08): 202-225-4576 @RepTrentFranks
  • Rep. Louie Gohmert (R-TX-01): 202-225-3035 @replouiegohmert
  • Rep. Jim Jordan (R-OH-04): 202-225-2676 @Jim_Jordan
  • Rep. Ted Poe (R-TX-02): 202-225-6565 @TedPoe
  • Rep. Jason Chaffetz (R-UT-03): 202-225-7751 @jasoninthehouse
  • Rep. Tom Marino (R-PA-10): 202-225-3731 @RepTomMarino
  • Rep. Trey Gowdy (R-SC-04): 202-225-6030 @TGowdySC
  • Rep. Raúl Labrador (R-ID-01): 202-225-6611 @Raul_Labrador
  • Rep. Blake Farenthold (R-TX-27): 202-225-7742 @farenthold
  • Rep. Doug Collins (R-GA-09): 202-225-9893 @RepDougCollins
  • Rep. Ron DeSantis (R-FL-06): 202-225-2706 @RepDeSantis
  • Rep. Ken Buck (R-CO-04): 202-225-4676 @RepKenBuck
  • Rep. John Ratcliffe (R-TX-04): 202-225-6673 @RepRatcliffe
  • Rep. Martha Roby (R-AL-02): 202-225-2901 @RepMarthaRoby
  • Rep. Matt Gaetz (R-FL-01): 202-225-4136 @MattGaetz
  • Rep. Mike Johnson (R-LA-04): 202-225-2777 @RepMikeJohnson
  • Rep. Andy Biggs (R-AZ-05): 202-225-2635 @RepAndyBiggsAZ
  • Ranking Member John Conyers, Jr. (D-MI-13): 202-225-5126 @RepJohnConyers
  • Rep. Jerry Nadler (D-NY-10): 202-225-5635 @RepJerryNadler
  • Rep. Zoe Lofgren (D-CA-19): 202-225-3072 @RepZoeLofgren
  • Rep. Sheila Jackson Lee (D-TX-18): 202-225-3816 @JacksonLeeTX18
  • Rep. Steve Cohen (D-TN-09): 202-225-3265 @RepCohen
  • Rep. Hank Johnson, Jr. (D-GA-04): 202-225-1605 @RepHankJohnson
  • Rep. Ted Deutch (D-FL-22): 202-225-3001 @RepTedDeutch
  • Rep. Luis Gutierrez (D-IL-04): 202-225-8203 @RepGutierrez
  • Rep. Karen Bass (D-CA-37): 202-225-7084 @RepKarenBass
  • Rep. Cedric Richmond (D-LA-02): 202-225-6636 @RepRichmond
  • Rep. Hakeem Jeffries (D-NY-08): 202-225-5936 @RepJeffries
  • Rep. David Cicilline (D-RI-01): 202-225-4911 @RepCicilline
  • Rep. Eric Swalwell (D-CA-15):  202-225-5065 @RepSwalwell
  • Rep. Ted Lieu (D-CA-33): 202-225-3976 @RepTedLieu
  • Rep. Jamie Raskin (D-MD-08): 202-225-5341 @RepRaskin
  • Rep. Pramila Jayapal (D-WA-07): 202-225-3106 @RepJayapal
  • Rep. Brad Schneider (D-IL-10): 202-225-4835 @RepSchneider

Sample tweet: “.@REPRESENTATIVE, Our community welcomes #refugees. OPPOSE H.R.2826 #RefugeesWelcome #GreaterAs1”

Follow @CWS_global on Twitter and “like” CWS Immigration and Refugee Program on Facebook for up-to-date alerts. Join our global home base for refugee solidarity—because we are all #GreaterAs1.
Please tell us if you take action (opens a new webpage)!